Apostille Certificates | Convention de La Haye | The Hague Convention

We specialise in obtaining Apostille Certificates for all original Australian public, company, commercial and educational documents.

Apostille is a French word (pronounced “ah-poh-steel”), meaning a certificate issued by a government of a country, authenticating the signature and or seal of a public official on a public document issued by that country, and intended for use in a foreign country.

Australian public, company, commercial or educational documents, including documents witnessed, certified and sealed by an Australian Notary Public, when affixed or attached with an Apostille Certificate issued by the Australian Government, will automatically be accepted for legal use in foreign countries that are signatories to the Hague Convention.

Apostille Certificates are restricted in their use to those countries which are signatories to The Hague Convention; otherwise a full embassy or consulate legalisation procedure is necessary. Australia is a member of The Hague Convention, having ratified it on 9th August, 1994.

Quote icon

My sincere thanks for the service you provided to me. Thanks to god for having sent me to you to resolve this through. Today I received my apostilled documents. I hope to be in Costa Rica soon and visit my daughter. God bless you.

Madime Rui (Mozambique)

As of 4th July, 2016, the following countries are full members and participate in the Hague Convention of 5 October 1961 abolishing the requirement of legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. The number of contracting countries to this convention is presently 132.

Filter Countries Alphabetically

  • Albania
  • American Samoa
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Azores
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bonaire
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Guyana
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Burandi
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • China (Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) only)
  • China (Macau Special Administrative Region (SAR) only)
  • Colombia
  • Comoros Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France, including:

    French Guiana, French Polynesia, Guadeloupe, Martinique, New Caledonia, Reunion, St.Pierre & Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna

  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong (SAR of China)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Isle of Man
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea (Republic of)
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau (SAR of China)
  • Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritus
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands (The)

    Aruba, Suriname, Netherlands Antilles: (Curacao, Bonaire, St Martin, St Eustatius, & Saba)

  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Samoa
  • San Marino, Republic of
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • St Pierre & Miquelon
  • St. Christopher (Kitts) & Nevis
  • St. Georgia & South Sandwich Islands
  • St. Helena
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland

    Anguilla, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Brunei, British Antarctic Territory, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Montserrat, Mauritius, St. Georgia & the South Sandwich Island, St Helena, Tonga & Caicos Islands, Turks & Caicos, Virgin Islands (British)

  • United States of America

    50 USA States, American Samoa, Puerto Rico, The District of Columbia, Guam (Territory of), US Virgin Islands

  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Yugoslavia

An Apostille certificate is the appropriate form of legalisation, if your Australian public document is required to operate in any of the above participating Hague Convention countries.

Popular Australian Public Documents

  • Consent Letter for children to travel or visit overseas
  • Certificates of Free Sale
  • Powers of Attorney
  • Pharmaceutical Certificates
  • NAATI certified language translations University, TAFE, and Secondary School degrees, certificates and transcripts certified by an authorised officer, or copies verified and certified by a Notary Public
  • Doctor and Dentist applications for overseas appointments
  • Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates
  • Change of Name documents
  • Single Status Certificates Certificate of No Impediment to Overseas Marriage
  • Statutory Declaration signed before a Notary Public
  • Probate, Letters of Administration
  • Land Transfer documents Affidavits, sworn Statements, and depositions sworn before an Australian Notary Public
  • Certificate of Incorporation of Australian Company issued by ASIC and miscellaneous original company documents, including Notarial Certificate of Good Standing in respect of Australian company
  • Notarised copy of Passport, Drivers Licence and other identity documents
  • Certificate of Divorce issued by the Family Court of Australia or Federal Magistrates Cour
  • Police Certificate (“no criminal record”) issued by State or Federal Police
  • Miscellaneous notarised documents for use overseas

Visit other Firstlaw Promotions websites...

Apostille Australia Certificate Service Notary Locator Court Lawyers Court Appearances Family Mediators Mediator Locator Directory Probate Lawyers Directory Solicitor Sydney, Twemlow Partners