Embassy consulate legalisations

Embassy | Consulate Legalisations

We specialise in legalising all Australian public, company, commercial, and educational
documents at Embassies and Consulates of foreign countries represented or located in
Australia and elsewhere.

If the foreign country in which you require your Australian public, commercial or
educational document to operate is not a country which is a signatory to The Hague
Convention, only its Embassy, Consulate, diplomatic or trade representative in Australia
can legalise your document. Apostille Certificates are unacceptable in countries which
have not ratified the Hague Convention.

In most cases, your Australian public document needs first to be authenticated by the
Australian Government before acceptance for legalisation by an Embassy or Consulate,
and this is achieved by the issue of an Authentication Certificate stamped or attached to

Embassy or Consulate legalisation is a complex, difficult and sometimes expensive
legal process. Each Embassy or Consulate has its peculiar opening hours, rules,
procedures, guidelines, and fees payable, all of which you must deal with to legalise
your Australian document for use in their country. It is a tricky and sometimes costly
exercise to conduct on your own.


  • It may require a written translation of the contents of a document from the English language into their country's own language, and that such translation be authenticated by the Australian Government.
  • Some countries require a Chamber of Commerce Certificate affixed to commercial documents as well as authentication.
  • Other countries, especially Middle Eastern Arab states, charge huge fees to legalise commercial documents and are closed on their national holidays and religious days.
Embassy | Consulate Legalisations

As of 4th July, 2016, the following countries have not agreed to participate in "The Hague Convention abolishing the requirement of legalisation for foreign public documents"

Afghanistan Algeria Angola
Bangladesh Benin Bhutan
Burkina Faso Burma Burundi
Cambodia Cameroon Canada
Chad China Comoros
Congo Cote d'lvoire Djibouti
Dominican Republic East Timor Egypt
Eritrea Ethiopia Gabon
Gambia Ghana Guinea
Guinea - Bissau Haiti Indonesia
Iran Iraq Jamaica
Jordan Kenya Kiribati (Tarawa)
Kuwait Laos Lebanon
Libya Madagascar Malaysia
Maldives Mali Mauritania
Micronesia Morocco Myanmar
Nauru Nepal Niger
Nigeria North Korea Pakistan
Palau Palestine Papua New Guinea
Qatar Rwanda Saudi Arabia
Senegal Sierra Leone Singapore
Solomon Islands Somalia Sri Lanka
Sudan Syria Taiwan
Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand
Togo Tunisia Turkmenistan
Tuvalu Uganda United Arab Emirates (UAE)
Vietnam Yemen Zambia

Countries not appearing on the above list require documents to be legalised by their embassies or consulates in Australia and do not accept Apostille certificates.

Another complicating factor is that there are approximately thirty (30) foreign countries that do not have embassies or consualtes located in Australia.

Most of these countries however, have arrangements in place with other countries represented here to assist them with the legalisation of Australian public documents; otherwise, their embassies or consulates located in nearby countries assist.